WellSpan Medical Education

Leadership & Faculty

Joel Atwood, MD, FACEP, FACP

Medical School:  University of Maryland School of Medicine
Residency: Christiana (Emergency Medicine and Internal Medicine)
Current Position: Assistant Residency Program Director
Interests & Hobbies: Medical Education, Intersection of emergency medicine and hospitalist medicine, Emergency Cardiology QI, Undergraduate Pre-Med advising

I graduated from medical school at the University of Maryland SOM in 2013. Afterwards I completed a combined emergency medicine and internal medicine residency at Christiana Care Health Systems. I was lucky enough to have an opportunity to join WellSpan as a clinical faculty member in the emergency department and academic hospitalist department in 2018. In early 2020, I joined the emergency residency leadership team as an assistant program director.

Amber Billet, MD, FACEP Residency Program Director, Associate Chair of Education, Medical Education Fellowship Director
Alexandra Pizarro, DO Co-Director of Resident Ultrasound Education
Thuyvi Luong, MD Co-Director of Ultrasound Education
Gayatri Patel, DO Director of Medical Student Ultrasound Education
Daniel Kreider, MD Ultrasound Fellowship Director
Robert Clontz, MD, FAAEM, FACEP Assistant Program Director
Joel Atwood, MD, FACEP, FACP Assistant Residency Program Director
Lorie Piccoli, MD Assistant Residency Program Director
Jessica Riley, MD, FACEP Interim Chair
Justin Koch, DO Interim Vice Chair
Scott Williams, MD, FAAEM, FACEP Co-Director, Center for Global Health Education, York Hospital
Krystle Shafer, MD Director of EM Critical Care, Co-Director Medical Student Clerkship
Michelle Hieger, DO Director, Division of Medical Toxicology; Core Faculty, Emergency Medicine
Steven Schirk, MD, FACEP Medical Command Facility Director, Medical Director, EMS Agencies
Bryan Wexler, MD, MPH, CHPCP, CHEC-III, FAAEM, FACEP Medical Director, Disaster Preparedness and Response
Heather Rozzi, MD, FACEP Medical Director, Forensic Examiner Team, WellSpan York Hospital, Department of Emergency Medicine
Brent Becker, MD, FAAEM, FACEP Research Director
Justin Putnam, MD Associate Research Director
Aaron Frey, DO Attending Physician
Avery Michienzi, DO Attending Physician
Beatrice Hoffmann, MD Attending Physician
Jeremiah White, MD Attending Physician
Jessica Fozard, DO Attending Physician
Karli Kreider-Zug, DO Attending Physician
Lynn McGowan, DO Attending Physician
Nicholas Bertoni, MD Attending Physician
Peter Baumeister, DO Attending Physician
Aizad Dasti, MD, FACEP, FAAEM Clinical Faculty
Jack Ko, MD Clinical Faculty
Kevin Norman, MD MS Clinical Faculty
Whitney Sherman, MD Clinical Faculty; Member of Multidisciplinary Peer Review Committee
Jennifer Sullivan, Pharm.D. Clinical Pharmacist/Faculty
Martha Barrett, MD, MPH Core Faculty, Department of Emergency Medicine; Physician Liaison for Continuing Medical Education
Thomas Yeich, MD, FACEP Director of Quality and Compliance; EMS Rotation Coordinator
Mark Collin, MD Director, Division of Point-of-Care Ultrasound; Core Faculty, Department of Emergency Medicine
Nicole Peters, DO Medical Student Clerkship Director
Kevin Sweeney, DO Ultrasound Fellow

Are you sure you would like to cancel?

All information will be lost.

Yes No ×